Clanging Cymbols   Leave a comment

“13 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

I was talking to a friend last week about a step I was taking out of obedience.  I had already decided to be obedient, but didn’t have a very willing attitude.  To be honest it was fear, but I was trying mask it in apathy.  She shot me the portion from 1 Corinthians listed about.  At first, I was a little puzzled, because it didn’t  apply.  Then it hit me, how many things am I doing that are out of obligation or ritual?  With this particular situation, I had allowed fear to completely crowd out the love.  I was being obedient, but where was my heart?  Any area of life my life that isn’t drenched in God’s love is lacking.  In fact, so lacking that it means nothing.  Even my obedience, if it’s not motivated by love and implemented by love, it’s completely worthless.  I deal with financials and billing as a career.  So much of what I do, doesn’t seem to impact the world in any great way.  It’s necessary, but ultimately, in light of eternity, where is the meaning?  If anything in my life without love is “nothing”, than anything that is full of love in my life is at the very least SOMETHING. How much of  my life is full of nothings, that could be something, if I just invited God’s love into it?  Instead of it being full of the “have to”s, maybe it will shift even the mundane things into “want to”s.  In the light of God’s love, I may even find there are some things that need to be gone from my completely.  What things are you doing in your life, that are void of God’s love?  Have you asked Him into that area?  A relationship, as task, and plan, a behavior . . . I want God to completely soak every area of my life and heart in his love.  Anything else is just waste, nothing.

Posted January 17, 2015 by canadianmeesh in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

