Perfect   Leave a comment

48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.
Matthew 5:48 NIV
These are great words that us perfectionists hide behind . . . My inner voice shouts  “Ha!  I knew it, God expects me to be perfect, and if I’m not, I’m just not good enough”  If that’s true, why does it only ring true with my pride and not the knowledge I have of who God is?
Perfect.  In the Matthew 5:48, it is the word “Teleios”, which means whole and complete in every part, nothing lacking.  (Zodhiates 1993).  For people who are not perfectionists, this is immediately exciting news.  For those of us who find our value in always make the right decisions, do the right things, get the right results . . . it actually means we’ve been getting it all wrong!  How freeing though!  There are so many times I don’t get it right.  It means that mistakes are not fatal, and life isn’t controlled by avoiding mistakes and errors at all costs.  The problem with having the wrong definition of being “perfect”, is that most people who HAVE to be perfect are hiding a lack of wholeness.  I am one of them.  But that is changing.
God has brought two very amazing people into my life.  Two ladies who have learned to walk in their calling and be who God’s called them to be in their own unique styles and personalities.  One is my mentor, the other is my vocal coach.  My first meeting with each of them separately, contained the same phrase:  “Don’t worry about being perfect”
Ummmm . . . have you met me?!
Before my first meeting with my vocal coach, I asked if there was anything I should do in preparation for our first meeting.  She encouraged me to just sing without thinking about technique or how I sound . . . or being PERFECT.  She wanted me to find my natural voice.  So what did I do?  I googled, “How to find your natural voice” . . . because I was going to do this and do it right.
My first meeting with my mentor ended with an “assignment”.  It was to be aware of situations that pull me out of my comfort zone and recognize them as opportunities.  It has also become a practice in recognizing that life isn’t perfect. What I’ve recognized is that in those imperfect moments, there is something beautiful . . . something God wants to show me.  So many of the moments that take me out of my comfort zone involve me not knowing the perfect thing to say or do.  Imperfection.  Look at my imperfection as an opportunity?!
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
2 Corinthians 12:9
As I let go of my false idea of “perfection”, I’m draw so much closer to real Perfection.  Christ.  I am never more “perfect” than when I let Christ fill my weakness with his perfection . . . when I let Him make me whole.  As long as I am covering over all those cracks and weaknesses with my pathetic attempts to be perfect, I’m not letting Him in . . . letting Him fill them with his healing power, making me whole.
I often look at transformation as a process that I need to figure out the steps to, and “get it right”.  But really, it’s about not about getting the steps right, going through the process perfectly.  For me, it’s about letting go of my idea of acting perfect, and letting Christ BE perfect in me.

Zodhiates, Spiros. The Complete Word Study Dictionary: New Testament. Chattanooga, TN, U.S.A.: AMG, 1993. Print.

Posted November 18, 2013 by canadianmeesh in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

